Tweet for Immigration Reform


Since the Senate’s immigration reform bill dropped last month, members of congress have been analyzing and dissecting the bill to come up with ways to either improve or outright derail reform.

The process culminated in more than 300 amendments proposed by members of the Senate, which were officially submitted this past Tuesday.

As reported by America’s Voice, some were good and some were bad.

Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee will begin reviewing the bill and the amendments. This is a make or break period for immigration reform, as many of the proposals offered by up anti-immigration senators were specifically designed to kill the bill. For example, Texas Senator Ted Cruz proposed an amendment that would prohibit anyone who had ever been undocumented for any period of time from ever becoming a United States citizen, directly aimed at killing the pathway to citizenship provision of the bill.

Social media is not only a great way to keep in touch with our friends and find out what celebrities are eating, but it’s a direct way to contact the offices of our elected officials.

We know that our elected officials regularly monitor the tweets directed to them, so it’s important that we let them know through social media andTwitter that we mean business on immigration reform.

Below is a list of the usernames for the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Please do your part in supporting the immigration reform effort and tweet your support for fair reform directly to them now and in the days to come. Also use the hashtags #immigrationreform, #cir, and#CIRmarkup to join the discussion with other users in support of immigration reform.

@SenatorLeahy Patrick J. Leahy, Chairman, D-Vermont
@SenFeinstein Dianne Feinstein, D-California
@ChuckSchumer Chuck Schumer, D-New York
@SenatorDurbin Dick Durbin, D-Illinois
@amyklobuchar Amy Klobuchar, D-Minnesota
@SenWhitehouse Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island
@alfranken Al Franken, D-Minnesota
@ChrisCoons Christopher A. Coons, D-Delaware
@SenBlumenthal Richard Blumenthal, D-Connecticut
@maziehirono Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii

@ChuckGrassley Chuck Grassley, Ranking Member, R-Iowa
@OrrinHatch Orrin G. Hatch, R-Utah
@SenatorSessions Jeff Sessions, R-Alabama
@LindseyGrahamSC Lindsey Graham, R-South Carolina
@JohnCornyn John Cornyn, R-Texas
@SenMikeLee Michael S. Lee, R-Utah
@tedcruz Ted Cruz, R-Texas
@JeffFlake Jeff Flake, R-Arizona

Warning: A non-numeric value encountered in /home/customer/www/ on line 326